Musica Film - Vendita online di DVD musicali e DVD film.
Un grande catalogo con novità, rarità, b-movie e film d'essai. La gestione del database prevede l'inserimento quotidiano e costante di tutte le novità su DVD, HD DVD e Blu-ray Disc (BD) dal mondo della musica (concerti live, compilation di successi e best of) e del cinema (film, serie TV, fiction televisive, documentari).

Generic search
Search music dvds
Search movie dvds
Powered by Gustamodena.it
blu-ray logo
hd dvd logo

Berlin Concert 1969

Berlin Concert 1969 - 2006

Duke Ellington & His Orchestra - Berlin Concert 1969 - 2006
User Rating: Not yet rated Send us your review


Technical info

  • Regions: 0
  • Disc number: 1
  • Production year: 1969
  • Release year: 2006
  • Runtime: 75 Minutes
  • Audience Rating: G (General Audience)
  • Package: Dvd Case
  • Screen ratios: Fullscreen (4:3)
  • Support: DVD: Single side, single layer
  • Colour: Colour + Black and white
  • Compilation: No
  • Concert: Yes
  • Video: No
  • Documentary: No
  • Former rent: No
  • Used: No
  • UK Import

Audio tracks

  • English - Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo



A rarely seen and long unavailable performance presenting the Ellington band at its best!

Organist Wild Bill Davis joined the Duke Ellington orchestra during its European tour for the last few months of 1969 and the first few months of 1970.
This wonderful DVD contains one of the few filmed testimonies of this unusual collaboration, featured on the last two tracks of the concert: "April in Paris" - in which the band plays the famous arrangement Davis wrote for the Count Basie orchestra - and the perennial standard "Satin Doll".
Johnny Hodges shines on "Black Butterfly" and "Things Ain't What They Used to Be" (he was to die just a few months later, on May 11, 1970). The concert's longest piece, Duke's beautiful composition "La Plus Belle Africaine", features Procope, Gaskin and Carney.

As a bonus, we offer an Amsterdam concert from Ellington's 1958 European tour. During his later years, the Duke was a bit tired of playing his old hits all of the time, preferring to perform newer and more ambitious pieces.
However, to please the audiences, he used to "remember" his most famous tunes, arranging them into medleys. Here we have two such wonderful medleys; the first displays three very old hits from the twenties, while the second quotes eleven different songs!
Apart from the Duke's tunes, this concert presents two arrangements of the standards: "My Funny Valentine", showcasing Hamilton on clarinet, and "All of Me", Hodges' all time tour de force.




  • Recorded Live At The Berlin Philharmonic, Berlin, Germany, November 8, 1969
    1. Take The A Train
    2. La Plus Belle Africaine
    3. Black Butterfly
    4. Thing Ain't What They Used To Be
    5. Don't Get Around Much Anymore
    6. Caravan
    7. Mood Indigo
    8. Sophisticated Lady
    9. April In Paris
    10. Satin Doll
  • Recorded Live In Amsterdam, Holland, November 2, 1958
    1. First Medley Of Ellington Hits - Blackk and Tan Fantasy/Creole Love Cal
    2. My Funny Valentine
    3. Mr. Gentle And Mr. Cool
    4. All Of Me
    5. Second Medley Of Ellington Hits - Don't Get Around Much Anymore/Do Nothi


  • Interactive Menu
  • Direct Scene Access

User's reviews